Remember me | Forgotten password?

Section Details

Chair: Tom Wilson

Secretary: Jim Watson, Arisaig, 1 Glenview Drive, Falkirk, FK1 5JT

mob: 07590 929107, e-mail: glasgow@thepwi.org

 

Meeting Venue

WSP Offices, 7th Floor, 110 Queen Street, Glasgow, G1 3BX. All meetings start at 17.30, with sandwiches, tea/coffee available from 17.00.

Please arrange to be at the building no later than 17:15 as building security is not available after this time and you may not be able to gain entry. A networking reception will take place after the presentation.

Please follow link to events calendar for details of section meetings

 

Section Programme

Wednesday 16 September 2020 - Online Meeting

Steel Sleepers - Why wouldn't you? (Tom Wilson, WSP and PWI Vice President, Scotland and Jim Watson, Section Secretary, PWI Glasgow) Change of paper and speakers

Wednesday 21 October 2020 - Online Meeting

PWI Professional Development and Registration (Dr Brian Counter, Technical Director, PWI)

Wednesday 18 November 2020 - Online Meeting

Railvac: Vacuum Excavation for Renewals, Enhancement & Maintenance Works (Lasse Rosvic, Railcare)

Wednesday 16 December 2020 - Online Meeting

Delivering the Scottish Minister's Requirements for Gauging in CP6 (Speaker TBC, Network Rail,  Scotland)

Wednesday 20 January 2021 - Online Meeting

Digital Signal Sighting Cadder HST Depot (Cillin Farrell, Arcadis)

February 2021 Date TBC - Sloan's, Argyle Street, Glasgow

Future of Rail - presentations competition (Joint meeting with REF PEIs)

Wednesday 17 February 2021 - Online Meeting

Modern Track Geometry Installation (Paul Coyne, Babcock International)

Wednesday 17 March 2021 - Online Meeting

Bridge over the River Dulnain and onwards to Granton on Spey (Speaker from Strathspey Railway) & AGM

Wednesday 21 April 2021 - Online Meeting & WSP, Queen Street, Glasgow

BIM (Chris Conroy, Arcadis)

Tuesday 27 April 2021 - Glasgow Royal Concert Hall

PWI Scotland Technical Seminar - Electrification: delivering the business case. Booking now open!

Wednesday 19 May 2021 - Online Meeting & WSP, Queen Street, Glasgow

New National Technical Rules (RSSB)

Saturday 12 June 2021 - PWI Social Event at County Hotel, 9 Botchergate, Carlisle

Annual Intersection Quiz - Teams will be taking part from Cheshire & North Wales, Edinburgh,

Glasgow, Lancaster Barrow & Carlisle, Manchester & Liverpool and North East sections.

Wednesday 16 June 2021 - PWI Technical Visit

Technical Visit to the Bo’ness & Kinneil Railway

Wednesday 15 September 2021 - Online Meeting & WSP, Queen Street, Glasgow

Mk2 HPSS (Mark Jackson, Network Rail)

Wednesday 20 October 2021 - Online Meeting & WSP, Queen Street, Glasgow

Odense Light Rail: System Construction Issues (Bastian Droncary & Donald Sutherland, WSP)

Wednesday 17 November 2021 - Online Meeting & WSP, Queen Street, Glasgow

Tubular Track, a Modular Ballastless Track System (Freek Shaw, Tubular Track (Pty) Ltd)

Wednesday 15 December 2021 - Online Meeting & WSP, Queen Street, Glasgow

LiDAR Surveying Technology (Will Currie, UTEC StarNet)