Remember me | Forgotten password?

Section Details

Chair: Gilles Moullec

Secretary: Simon Warren

email: western@thepwi.org

 

Meeting Venue

Engine Room, Atkins, 5th Floor Milford House, 1 Milford Street, Swindon, SN1 1DW Lunchtime meetings 12:30 for a prompt 12:45 start - 14:00 finish

Please follow link to events calendar for details of section meetings

 

Section Programme

Wednesday 27 January 2021 - Online Meeting

Seattle Light Rail Project - Geoff Kennedy, Atkins

Wednesday 24 February 2021 - Online Meeting

The Principles of Points Operating Equipment and the High Performance Switch System (HPSS)- Mark Jackson, Programme Engineering Manager, Technical Services & Steve Spurlock, Quality & Business Development Manager, Network Rail

Wednesday 24 March 2021 - Online Meeting

Sustainability within Track - Darren Sharp, Principal Engineer (Track, S&C), Asset Enhancement Team, Network Rail

Wednesday 21 April 2021 - Online Meeting

Research and Development into Alternative Formation Treatments - Benjamin Lee, Senior Engineer (Track), Network Rail Technical Authority 

Wednesday 19 May 2021 - Online Meeting

Maintenance and Asset management requirements of the Rigid Overhead Conductor Rail system (ROCS) on the Wales & Western region - Darrel Tiddy, Senior Asset Engineer, Elena Ionescu, Asset Engineer & Tom Garner, Senior Asset Engineer, Network Rail

Wednesday 16 June 2021 - Online Meeting

Geosynthetics in Trackbed - Levente Nogy & Dr Mohamed Wehbi, Network Rail

Wednesday 14 July 2021 - Online Meeting

Why NR60 Mk2? - Ian Bostock, Principal Engineer, Switches & Crossings, Network Rail

Wednesday 8 September 2021 - Online Meeting

Triple split bearers installed on UK infrastructure - Nine Elms Junction - Michael Woolford, Constantin Ciobanu and Sean Murray, AECOM

Wednesday 6 October 2021 - Online Meeting

Core Valley Lines Electrification: Traction power modelling and the OLE system - Richard Wood, Technical Director (Track) and Samuel Jones, Principal Mechanical Engineer, Amey

Wednesday 3 November 2021 - Online Meeting

Basic steel metallurgy and the effect of rail section on rail stress and defect growth - Andy Franklin, Principal Project Engineer, Network Rail and Vice President, PWI South England and Wales

Wednesday 1 December 2021 - Online Meeting

Gypsy Patch - Brian Paynter MBE, Programme Director (Track), Network Rail

Wednesday 26 January 2022 - Venue TBC

Metro West 1 DCO project - Speaker TBC

Wednesday 23 February 2022 - Venue TBC

Bristol East Junction remodelling - Molly Evans, Network Rail

Wednesday 23 March 2022 - Venue TBC

Safety Task Force - Nick Millington, Safety Task Force Leader, Network Rail and President, PWI